…Hello, Spring

A little over a year ago I took the leap and splurged on a Nikon D3100 – it has proven to be, without a doubt, the best investment I have ever made. Taking pictures (of everywhere, everything and/or everyone) quickly joined cooking and knitting to round out the top three things that I would almost always rather be doing with my time. My budding obsession with love of photography has also reinforced bonds with my father who was a professional photographer for many years. After discussing my options extensively pre-purchase (Canon vs. Nikon? 15 megapixels vs. 18 megapixels – worth the extra $200?), he decided to get the matching model and we have been comparing techniques, questions and photos ever sense.

This Christmas I was gifted with my first non-kit lens, a 55-200mm zoom. After looking through a collection of photos I had taken in the past year, from an aerial view above Mount Everest to a tight shot of the veins of a cabbage leaf, my dad encouraged me to use the new lens to really play with my technique, specifically in terms of depth of field, texture and color. He particularly noticed my lack of any portraiture experience and, after hearing numerous antecdotes about how emphatic and expressive the French can be, suggested trying to catch French faces, unaware and in mid-gesture while sipping an aperitif on the terrace across the street (and some of you are concerned about my following potential FFFPs?). Like father, like daughter.

So lately, while touristing in the Tuileries garden trying to soak up the few rays of sunlight successfully piercing the persistent cloud cover or exploring Parc de Saint-Cloud with a dear friend, I have pulled out the new toy to experiment. What I have seen is a glimpse of the spring that is coming, one laughing child, speeding sailboat herb garden(!!) or budding flower at a time.

(My own little piece of spring, right outside my living room window; those long evenings and warm breezes cannot come soon enough.)

 

One response to “…Hello, Spring

  1. Pingback: An hour from Paris – Giverny | Researching Paris

Leave a Reply

