Weekly Harvests (7)

For the most part, the events of the past two weeks are a blur. The speed with which time flies no longer astounds me, but leaves me feeling helpless in its wake and somewhat defeated, constantly battling an endless (and expanding) to-do list. With guests in and out of Paris, making new friends and a project at work that is picking up (even more) speed, I have had next to no time at home to stretch my culinary muscles. Not to mention the state of perma-exhaustion I have been in since Daylight Savings time kicked in. In fact, when picking up this week’s panier, it dawned on me that I had not fixed dinner at home for an entire week. While, I am certainly not complaining about my demanding social schedule (ha), sometimes a girl just needs a night (or ten) off.

The only thing I do regret about the past two weeks is the loss of those beautiful shitake mushrooms. Two Wednesdays ago, I was so thrilled to finally receive mushrooms in my share that I may have done a small victory dance on my way to catch the metro. I had visions of risotto, mushroom and bacon omelets or perhaps even a savory upside-down cake. In retrospect, I should have taken advantage of that inspiration in the moment. As one day bled into the next, the ‘shrooms withered away, sitting on my counter, increasingly shriveled and looking accusingly at me each time I grabbed a yogurt on my way out the door, or returned stuffed from yet another bistro feast. Let us not even discuss the fate of that lettuce.

(Let’s take a moment of silence in appreciation of the return of natural light after 6pm. Even if it means pushing through the Daylight Savings time lag.)

Accommodating this week’s panier also provided a challenge. An experiment on Wednesday night took longer than expected (perhaps because I fell asleep while running my samples?) and I was not able to make it to the Trait d’Ethique before closing time. The saleswomen were kind enough to hold on to my vegetables until opening time on Thursday, which provided me with a great excuse to get out of the lab and take a long walk on a beautiful spring morning. Despite the inauspicious start, I made a point that night to dive in and enjoy some of the bounty. In particular, I devoured the radishes. These violently pink, slightly sharp, delicious with just a bit of salt bite-sized snacks are one of the first indications (along with the arrival of salad greens) that spring is officially here. I celebrated with a satisfying meal of radishes, salad, roasted potatoes and eggs, scrambled with sun-dried tomatoes and goat cheese. Taking the time to sit and enjoy a simple meal was, as always, a way to center myself. At least for a few minutes before tackling that to-do list again.

 

3 responses to “Weekly Harvests (7)

  1. Wonderful post! Felt exhausted with you, but relished your joy in your radish(es). Your finale looked delicious! Great photos. New camera yet?

    • researchingparis

      I did get the new camera – A Nikon D3100. Love it so much. My dad (a photographer) broke the Canon-Nikon dilemma by letting me know that, in his experience, Nikons take the hard knocks much better than Canons do. I’m a klutz, so this was the deciding factor. Either way, it was the best purchase I’ve made in a long time!

  2. easylifestyles

    I love food and sharing recipes. I really enjoy reading your blog very much. Thanks for sharing this post.

Leave a Reply

