Weekly Harvest (5)

I feel like I ate nothing but meat while in the US. Ok, I am exaggerating, but only a little bit. There were steaks, chickens, ribs, roasts and the best burger I have ever tasted – all in just 4 days. I rarely fix meat for myself, so it was a treat to stay my best friend and her boyfriend who, being from Texas, gladly did all the carnivorous cooking while I looked on, took photos, tried not to be too much in the way and ate whatever he put into my plate. It was decadent and delicious.

However, with my jeans a bit more snug than they were prior to my departure, and the Paris weather finally feeling a bit more spring-like, I was glad to pick up my panier today and consider a few vegetable-themed meals. Perhaps not so spring-like, but I was delighted to get Brussels sprouts one more time before the seasons change. Immediately following their photo opportunity above, they were trimmed, tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted until the outer leaves were crispy and browned.

The leeks are destined for this bread pudding. This recipe was the non-meaty highlight of my trip stateside. Anna made a point of mentioning the fussiness in Keller’s recipe – the use of a parchment lid and braising the leeks in the emulsified butter – but if mine comes out half as well as hers, it will be a tremendous success, with a large salad of course.

The kiwis are a welcome change from the neverending flow of apples, although for now they are all rock hard. It will be a few days until I can enjoy them for breakfast (or dessert), scooped right out of their skin with some greek yogurt.

I remain stymied by the black radish. I am embarrassed to admit that the last one I received was ‘lost’ in the back of my refrigerator, so I have yet to really figure out what to do with them. Many internet sources suggest sautéing or stir-frying them. Clotilde also suggested this salad, a variation on which might be the best use for the unwelcome radish, a few of those carrots and some remaining potatoes from previous weeks. I will be sure to let you know!

 

4 responses to “Weekly Harvest (5)

  1. If you’re not too sick of gratins at this point….black radish gratin
    http://nymag.com/restaurants/recipes/inseason/63647/

    • researchingparis

      Is it possible for one to be sick of gratins? The variety is endless (as you are suggesting). Plus, if I start the running routine I’m hoping to in the next week or so, there won’t even be any cheese guilt (not that there ever should be).

  2. I’m simply stunned that kiwis grow in France. I thought they were just a Southern hemisphere thing. Which just goes to show how little I know about fruit.

  3. I get that same feeling every time I go to the States.

Leave a Reply

