Goodbye summer (FFFFP #12)

It is definitely autumn in Paris. Leaves are turning, hours of daylight dwindling and the wind has a cold bite to it that the lighter coat is not capable of keeping out. Overall, this summer was a bit of a disappointment. There were definitely more grey (sometimes rainy) days than last year. Granted, I did miss late August through mid-September while traveling (writer’s block about which has brought this blog to a grinding halt as of late), and the sun was said to have made a brief appearance before disappearing again for good.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not complaining. Despite my California roots, I have come to love the cold weather. Fall means sweaters and soups, bottomless cups of hot tea and cold, drizzly Sundays provide an excellent excuse for movie (or Wii) marathons. In fact, I am officially welcoming the change of seasons this Sunday with chili and American football.

Yet, for FFFFP, the passing of summer is slightly sad. Summer is the season when the French let it all hang out (I mean this literally and figuratively, but mostly literally). Summer is the season of riotous color and shorts so short you can see the bottom of the pockets hanging down below the hem. It is not all bad – with the cooler weather, tights are back (although in a much more muted, and pleasing, palette than spring), and it is clear that the pirate boot phenomenon has not ebbed.

But, with the dark, cold days ahead, I have to accept that this…

…will not be happening again for sometime. Which, if you ask me, is a damn shame. So, I take my hat off to you, Ms. Summer 2010, for providing me with a tangible reminder of all things hot and sticky. When I am bundled up, drinking that tenth cup of tea to stay warm, you will not only make me smile, but provide me with a challenge for FFFFPs to come. I don’t know if I can beat this…

 

3 responses to “Goodbye summer (FFFFP #12)

  1. LOVE IT! xoxo When can WE do a “WII” marathon!?!?! lol

  2. Pingback: Bam! (FFFFP #13) | Researching Paris

  3. Pingback: Weekly Travel Theme – Gaudy | Researching San Diego

Leave a Reply

