The Great Outdoors (Paris-style)

The official countdown has begun. I have 5 weeks left before leaving on vacation to the USA. I am anxiously awaiting my time off, but before then I have an incredible amount of work to do. With this in mind, I was gearing up to head to the office Saturday afternoon. Intermittent thunderstorms had been forecast for the day, so I thought it would be a good time to catch up on some reading and writing. However, like the very good friends they are, Alex & Co. messaged me to invite me to a picnic at the Champ de Mars instead.

Done.

I packed a picnic, mostly made up of bread, cheese and wine quickly grabbed at the corner bakery before heading down to meet them on the Metro, en route. Although the heavy grey clouds threatened all afternoon, no rain fell. It ended up being quite nice, as the direct sunlight was quite intense and the shading of the clouds brought a welcome cool breeze.

We took postcard-like pictures of the tower from the Pont de Bir-Hakeim and then ventured under the Tower and to the park, which was thick with people.

As we pushed further back in order to get a decent spot to spread out, we  came across these guys, pushing on their final lap after cycling from London to Paris. They seemed more than happy to pose for a picture.

Once we found a bit of space, we spread out the blanket, the food and the baby and enjoyed a beautiful afternoon in the shadow of Paris’ most recognized landmark.

The people-watching was highly entertaining and, with the relaxed company, we had a perfect lazy Saturday afternoon. Alex even did some dancing in celebration. After missing the picnic opportunities on Wednesday due to actual torrents of rain, I was overdue to enjoy the “great outdoors”, at least as much as you can in the middle of the city.

Nonetheless, it sure beat going to work. I still don’t know what I was thinking with that idea.

One response to “The Great Outdoors (Paris-style)

  1. OMG! He has grown into a little MAN already! wow. I’ve been gone awhile! lol

Leave a Reply

