FFFFP #8 – On Vacation (Part 1)

Summer in Europe means tourists. And heat. In my experience the combination of these two can often lead to bad clothing choices. Last week I had the great fortune to join the rest of the vacationers, leaving the city for a week with two friends and driving through southwestern Europe. Much fun was had and several candidates for FFFFP unknowingly caught my eye and were inconspicuously captured on film (well, digitally, but you know what I mean).

First up, Who Wears Short Shorts?

This photo was taken on the top of Chateau d’If, the infamous prison off the coast of Marseille, France, featured in the Alexandre Dumas novel, The Count of Monte Cristo.

I will give you that it was a swealtering 32ºC (90ºF) that day, but I do believe that this level of exposure is just asking for a really uncomfortable sunburn on the backs of one’s thighs (especially the part that sticks to cheap vinyl chairs when sitting down – ouch!). I am one of those people that wince at marathoners who wear tiny running shorts, but at least they have a true need for less restricting clothing. These shorts were so short and tight that they looked uncomfortable and potentially chafing. Especially in all that heat.

I am just hoping that somewhere in that oversized backpack is an extra pair of pants to wear at dinner. Knowing that men tend to get comfortable at a table by spreading their legs into a wide stance, I would not want to be the person that got seated across from him looking forward to my €45 bouillabaisse. Choking on the stew because of that view would be très gauche.

3 responses to “FFFFP #8 – On Vacation (Part 1)

  1. Eep. That reminds me that I got one on the street the other day, and I need to send it your way. 🙂

  2. Cliff Sprockets

    I’d be willing to bet money that this guy is German.

  3. Pingback: FFFFP on Vacation – Mont Saint-Michel | Researching Paris

Leave a Reply

