The Ride

the ride

This is my beginning. I’ve taken a long time to truly take this step, because this blog is something to which I really want to commit – not only to update friends and family, but also as a living record of how my remaining 2 years, 2 months and 3 days in France will unfold. A place to jot down thoughts, relay stories of embarrassing cultural clashes (or modest victories) and, mostly, a space to dote on my growing interests in photography and travel, both of which I do whenever possible.

I start with this photo because work is what brought me to Paris. Research science is hard. It is almost always unpredictable and challenging (the rare moments of pure adrenaline and excitement keeps us crazies coming back for more). After taking my own sweet time to finish graduate school, I decided I wanted to at least put myself in a place where I could enjoy life when not in the lab. I did not think that I could bury my head so deep in science that I would look past the glittering Eiffel Tower or miss the opportunity to hit up free museums once a month. I have not been as successful as I hoped at taking advantage of the cultural, historical, musical, artistic, historic (etc.) opportunities that this city has to offer, but I am getting there.

Day-to-day life here is much like it was anywhere else I have been. Wake up. Eat. Work. Eat. Sleep. Repeat. However, doing this in France (especially the eating) has been an adventure; one that promises to continue. Why not come along for the ride?

One response to “The Ride

  1. Pingback: My Seven | Researching Paris

Leave a Reply

