Weekly Harvest (6)

As I walked out the door today I had that nagging feeling that I was forgetting something. My mind immediately went to my keys. Check. Lunch? Check. iPod, headphones, blackberry? Check3. It was only as I was climbing up out of the Pasteur metro stop when I realized (after glancing at the pub on the corner, of course) that it was St. Patrick’s Day. And I had completely forgotten my green. 

In addition to the beets (with which I am planning this), endives (broiled with vinaigrette is my new go-to) and more apples, yesterday’s panier supplied red potatoes and a gorgeous head of cabbage, making a traditional St. Patrick’s dinner just one corned beef short of complete. Unfortunately I have not seen pre-corned beef in the markets in France and, although each year here I have contemplated the possibility, yet again I did not get my act together in time to make my own.

Instead, I decided to stuff the cabbage leaves with some leftover lentils and rice. The leaves were so vibrantly green, even more so after being wilted by some boiling water (the better to roll around the filling), and I am utterly infatuated with how colors pop using my new camera. I packed a small casserole dish with rolls, topped them with a quick tomato sauce and some cheese and left them to bake.

Forty-five minutes later, I pulled them out of the oven and deeply inhaled the fragrant steam rising from the golden, bubbly, gooey concoction. It was already relatively late and my stomach had been growling since I walked through the door. I made quick work of a few rolls and was very satisfied with the outcome. It may not be the most traditional of St. Patrick’s Day meals, but, in the end, I did get my green.

 

One response to “Weekly Harvest (6)

  1. Pingback: …Hello, Spring | Researching Paris

Leave a Reply

