Stream of Consciousness (I)

I saw this on the way to work today:


He frightens me. Albeit, not as much as he did with all the hair. Do we have to go through this again? One thing leads to another and this poster reminded me of this:

Taken in Germany over the Christmas holiday, I took this mainly to document my astonishment that Kevin Costner was touring Europe. I only now notice that it is cozying up with the return of A-Ha, the advertisement to the left. I would not mind A-Ha coming back, although I do wonder if the lead signer can still hit that super high note in “Take on Me”. That video was one of my all time favorites when I and MTV were young and music videos were still its main programming fare.

Searching for the video reminded me that I have been collecting the following links, all of which I have found or been connected with in the past week or so, to share here at some point. Well, now is as good a time as ever (long, but productive, day at work – excuse the seeming apathy – it is just sleepiness). Shameless riffing on Martinimade’s ‘many things make a post’ weekly column, hopefully Adrienne won’t mind and maybe we can find fun stuff for each other?

This is interesting. Although #1 makes me extremely sad. How did I not know about this?

For the scientists out there (who I have not already forwarded it to), here’s something else to worry about. Let’s just say that I am not looking forward to be on the job market in a year or so…

Speaking of education, this column lead me to this site. I think it is a great idea. I have always been an avid reader, but I have known many who find it a burden. To my recollection, the majority of those are men. Maybe this is a way to hook the boys into reading?

I am always expanding my blogroll (check out the sidebar, it is freshly updated) and recently found that Peter Sagal (of “Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me” fame) is now writing a movie blog for AMC called ‘Filmstripping’ (hehe). It is good fun. How can you not love someone who claims that he wrote Dirty Dancing 2: Havana Nights ‘without meaning to’? Or, maybe that is just me…

For the knitters, have you seen this new site? A yarn giveaway each week! My fingers are constantly crossed (the only loophole in my no-new-yarn-until-I-finish-some-projects rule).

Also, MDK clued me into this video, which is a knitters dream. How do you convey warmth? With handknits, of course! (Don’t forget to watch the ‘making of‘ – it is just as cool).

Speaking of warming, I made chili from this website last weekend. It was quick, easy and delicious. I am a great fan of anything The Pioneer Woman puts together, and I think this recipe site is a great addition to the cooking resources on the web. Along that line, I am seriously thinking about following in Camille’s footsteps and signing up for a CSA panier. I just wonder if I am too late for the season?

Lastly, The German sent me this last night. It is good fun. Where do you think you fall?

Am I the only only one astounded that it is almost April? Ugh. So much to do, so little time.

4 responses to “Stream of Consciousness (I)

  1. I think I’m somewhere on the line between Geek and Nerd. :) I’ll be happy to help you find and sign up for a panier! I also recently found out about a collective of farms where you can go pick your own fruits and vegetables. We should definitely go when it gets a little warmer!

    • researchingparis

      I am definitely in for pick-your-own once it warms up. All this talk of spring, but it is still frigid outside. I do want to try and find a panier as well… Found a good website with Paris choices, but am having a hard time… Sunday? :)

  2. Yes, we’ll talk Sunday. I’ll also try to put an informative answer up on my blog soon.

  3. Please continue your own many things!I’m sure I stole the idea from someone else. Such is the way of these things.

Leave a Reply

